“Liebster” Blog Awards

Last week, I was amazed and pleased to see that Gunn from the Wellie Blog nominated me for a “Liebster” Blog award. Thank you so much!!!

“Liebster” (meaning favourite in German) is a blogging tool for amateur bloggers with under 200 subscribers, to share related blogs with each other.

This means I will answer ten questions that the Wellie Blog asked me, and then share 5 of my favourite gardening blogs and in turn ask them some questions!

Who is your favourite person to garden with?

Easily Ian, although I really love how many of our friends have helped us out over the last year!

If I wasn’t on the allotment I’d be …

… at home, knitting.

Monty Don or Alan Titchmarsh?

I really like Monty Don’s Real Craft, but I don’t watch any gardening shows.

Which vegetable have you grown to like after growing your own?

I’ve always liked all vegetables. But I love our potatoes way more than shop bought spuds!

To dig in the rain or not?

No way. I think it compresses the soil too much, is making work harder for myself, and is plain miserable. I’d rather hide in the shed and do odd jobs.

Where is the best place you go to get allotment advice?

Our neighbours are usually very helpful!

Which tool would you not be without?

I love my secateurs.

Music or bird song whilst on the allotment?

Mostly bird song or chatter with the neighbours. On a long day, I might listen to an audiobook for a while.

What is your best and most successful recipe for allotment produce?

Toss vegetables in olive oil, season with salt and pepper and roast on a baking tray. Most vegetables taste amazing this way.

Sprouts: love or hate?

LOVE. Sadly, a rather unrequited love – our sprouts are not very productive.

I would like to nominate:

Notes from the Veg Patch – a blog I particularly enjoy because this blogger’s plot is on the same site as mine!

The Greedy Gardener – a blog full of lovely gardening and cooking photos as well as photos of cycling days out in the midlands.

Agents of Field, “changing the world one forkful at a time”.

Trainee Allotmenteer, who cheers me up with zany titles such as “chitty chitty bang bang”.

Digging for Sanity, who takes lots of photos of the wildlife around her plot – very inspiring!

Please check out these blogs – if you enjoy mine, you will probably enjoy theirs!

If you are nominated you simply have to follow these steps: 

1) Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2)  Display the award on your blog (could be in your sidebar or as part of a post).

3) Answer 10 questions about your blog.

My questions for you:

Do you have a favourite gardening book?

Do you use crop rotation on your plot?

What’s the worst pest on your plot?

What’s your favourite thing you’ve grown?

What colour is your shed?

What exotic plant would you love to be able to grow?

What’s your favourite tool and why?

What is the one vegetable you just can’t grow?

What was the last bird you saw on your plot?

Do you use green manures?

4) Nominate 5 of your favourite blogs that have a less than 200 followers.

6) Create a new list of questions for the bloggers to answer.

7) Inform the people/blogs that you nominate and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!).

Thank you for participating, and thank you again for my nomination, Wellie Blog!

About batmanhasanallotment

Enthusiastic with spade, trowel and pen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Liebster” Blog Awards

  1. TheDigger says:

    Ooh, an award! Shall I make a speech? I will update later on. Thanks for the nomination 🙂

  2. Congrats on the award, and thank you so much for nominating us! AoF

Leave a comment